The Association

Bündnis freie Szene BerlinThe Bündnis Freie Szene e.V. was founded in 2019 by Berlin associations and networks of the independent scene.
Its task is to support the coalition of the independent scene in Berlin and the spokesperson’s group as their committee in their work, to initiate projects and to raise funds.

In March 2012, the coalition of the independent scene of all arts was formed across all disciplines in Berlin to draw attention to the blatant misguided development in Berlin’s cultural budget. The current cultural policy endangers the substance of the much touted and internationally acclaimed creative Berlin. In cooperation with various networks, initiatives, groups and individuals, the coalition of the independent scene bundles and develops ideas for a new cultural policy.

The arts in their diversity and interplay make Berlin so attractive and are a decisive economic and tourism factor. But art is not just an image tool. The coalition of the independent scene defends itself against a policy that increasingly exposes the arts in free structures to the pressure to exploit them or abandons them to repression, thereby damaging the autonomy of art and marginalizing the social significance of art.

Berlin is at a crossroads. The independent artists will play a key role in the future of the city. That is why we need a change in cultural policy.

The coalition of the independent scene is an open platform that discusses and formulates cultural-political demands in regular meetings, develops concepts and organizes campaigns. Artists and those interested in culture are invited; information about dates and activities is available via the newsletter and the Facebook group.

The work of the coalition of the independent scene is coordinated by a spokesperson consisting of representatives of the respective branch associations for the visual arts, music, project rooms, literature, dance and performing arts as well as persons independent of the sector who are directly elected by the quarterly plenaries will.

The “independent scene” is the entirety of all independent artists, ensembles, institutions and structures in Berlin from all areas, including architecture, visual arts, dance, drama, performance, new media, baroque music, electro, Jazz, classical to new music, music theater, children’s and youth theater, literature as well as interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary formats.

Artists in the independent scene work in terms of content, methodology and structure independently, self-determined and self-organized. They do not work in a market-oriented or commercial manner and are not permanently employed. They are independent from institutional and communal facilities. Her art is created in changing locations and in different constellations. Your art is created free of economic pressures to exploit and free of content and structural requirements.

Board

caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right
Bettina Bohle
Bettina Bohle is a humanities scholar and freelance cultural manager. In addition to working as a post doc at various German universities, she has been active in cultural policy for almost ten years, especially for jazz and improvised music. From 2013 to the beginning of 2020 she was a member of the spokesperson for the coalition of the independent scene.
Email
Eric Schumacher
Eric Schumacher is an author, organizer, editor and activist. He is a co-founder and board member of the artists’ collective KOOK e.V and co-organizer of the KOOKread reading series. He is a founding member of the Network of the Free Literature Scene Berlin e.V., of which he was a board member from 2016 – 2019. Since October 2020 he has been back in the spokespersons of the coalition of the independent scene, in which he represents the interests of the independent literary scene and of which he was already a member from 2016 – 2019.
E-Mail
Chris Benedict
Chris Benedict is an arts administrator, city and museum guide as well as art activist. She organises a berlin-wide art education program called “KinderKulturMonat” since 2012 and also manages smaller festivals, art actions and campaigns. Starting in 2011 she engaged in the Network of Independent Project Spaces in Berlin and in 2016 became a member of the speakers cirlce of the Berlin Independent Scene.
E-Mail

Statutes for the Bündnis Freie Szene Berlin e.V.

Download as → PDF

Der Verein

Bündnis freie Szene BerlinDer Bündnis Freie Szene Berlin e.V. wurde 2019 gegründet. Er besteht aus Berliner Verbänden und Netzwerken der Freien Szene. Seine Aufgabe ist es, die Koalition der Freien Szene Berlin und deren Sprecher:innen-Kreis in ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen. Dies tut der Verein vor allem, indem er Projekte initiiert und Mittel beschafft

Im März 2012 bildet sich in Berlin die spartenübergreifende Koalition der Freien Szene aller Künste. Sie will auf die eklatante Fehlentwicklung im Berliner Kulturhaushalt aufmerksam machen. Denn die derzeitige Kulturpolitik bedroht die kreative Substanz des viel beschworenen und international gefeierten Berlin. Gemeinsam bündeln und entwickeln Netzwerke, Initiativen, Gruppen und Einzelpersonen in der Koalition der Freien Szene ihre Ideen für eine neue Kulturpolitik und formulieren öffentliche Forderungen für die Freie Szene.

Was macht die Koalition der Freien Szene?

Die Koalition der Freien Szene wehrt sich gegen eine Politik, die die Künste in freien Strukturen zunehmend Verwertungszwängen aussetzt und sie so der Verdrängung preisgibt. Denn dies beschädigt die Autonomie der Kunst und drängt ihre gesellschaftliche Bedeutung an den Rand.

Die Koalition der Freien Szene ist eine Aktionsplattform für alle Menschen aus der Freien Szene Berlin. In regelmäßigen Treffen diskutieren und formulieren wir kulturpolitische Forderungen, entwickeln Konzepte und organisieren Kampagnen. Außerdem treffen wir uns viermal im Jahr öffentlich zu einem Plenum, zu dem alle aus der Freien Szene eingeladen sind. Hier berichten wir von der Arbeit des Sprecher:innen-Kreises und der Arbeitsgruppen und besprechen als Freie Szene gemeinsam neue Forderungen, Arbeitsgruppen und Themenschwerpunkte.

Koordiniert wird die Arbeit der Koalition der Freien Szene von einem Sprecher:innen-Kreis, der sowohl aus Vertreter:innen der jeweiligen Spartenverbände für Bildende Kunst, Darstellende Künste, Literatur, Musik, Projekträume und Tanz besteht, als auch aus spartenunabhängigen Personen, die direkt vom Plenum gewählt werden. Aktuelle Infos zu unseren Terminen und Aktivitäten erfahrt ihr über den Newsletter und die Facebook-Gruppe der Koalition der Freien Szene.

Was ist die Freie Szene?

Die „Freie Szene“ ist die Gesamtheit aller in Berlin frei produzierenden Künstler:innen, Ensembles, Einrichtungen und Strukturen in freier Trägerschaft aus allen Bereichen, einschließlich Bildende Kunst, Tanz, Schauspiel, Performance, Neue Medien, Musik, Musiktheater, Kinder- und Jugendtheater, Literatur und allen spartenübergreifenden und transdisziplinären Formaten.

Künstler:innen der Freien Szene arbeiten inhaltlich, methodisch und strukturell unabhängig, selbstbestimmt und selbstorganisiert. Sie arbeiten nicht marktorientiert oder kommerziell und sind nicht in festen Arbeitsverhältnissen beschäftigt. Sie sind eigenständig gegenüber institutionellen und kommunalen Einrichtungen. Ihre Kunst entsteht an wechselnden Orten und in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen. Ihre Kunst entsteht frei von wirtschaftlichen Verwertungszwängen sowie frei von inhaltlichen und strukturellen Vorgaben.

Vorstand

caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right
Bettina Bohle
Bettina Bohle ist Geisteswissenschaftlerin & freie Kulturmanagerin. Neben Tätigkeiten als Post Doc an verschiedenen deutschen Hochschulen ist sie seit knapp zehn Jahren kulturpolitisch aktiv, insbesondere für den Jazz und die improvisierte Musik. Sie war von 2013 bis Anfang 2020 Mitglied im Sprecher:innen-Kreis der Koalition der Freien Szene.
E-Mail
Eric Schumacher
Eric Schumacher ist Autor, Veranstalter, Herausgeber und Aktivist. Er ist Mitgründer und Vorstandsmitglied des Künstler:innenkollektivs KOOK e.V. und Mitorganisator der Lesereihe KOOKread. Er ist Gründungsmitglied des NFLB e.V. und war 2016–2019 in dessen Vorstand. Seit Oktober 2020 ist er wieder im Sprecher:innen-Kreis der Koalition der Freien Szene und vertritt dort die Belange der Freien Literaturszene, wie bereits von 2016–2019.
E-Mail

Satzung für das Bündnis Freie Szene Berlin e.V.

Download der Satzung als → PDF